About the Author

I was born in Kabul, Afghanistan on December 12, 1987. When I was in the 3th standard, the regime changed and the Taliban took control of our country. I was one among the many Afghan girls who were unable to attend school in those times, but I continued my education at home. When my family started a new life after the Taliban regime, I was able to go back to school. I completed high school in 2005 with 99% of marks among 50 students. After that I successfully completed a B.A. with honors in Law and Political Science from Herat University of Afghanistan.

I have received an academic fellowship from AIT (Asian Institute of Technology ) and a scholarship from The University of York's Post Recovery War Studies Department in the UK. I also participated in different legal trainings, internship programs, voluntary jobs, Rule of Law conferences, court case management and statistical system conferences. I speak fluent English, Dari and Pashtu and functional Urdu. I have pursued an interdisciplinary focus throughout my studies. My undergraduate education included courses in economics, geography, history, political studies, religious studies, and English.

Since 2009, I have been working as a women's rights activist in my community. I have participated in different women's rights workshop’s one of them being the Ewha Global Empowerment Program (EGEP) which was held at Ewha Women’s University in Seoul, South Korea. I was the only Afghan woman selected to represent the women of Afghanistan. During the program I delivered a presentation on life as a woman in Afghanistan to an audience of almost 300 Korean women’s rights activists, university professors and news reporters.  The skills and knowledge I gained from the EGEP Program gave me the courage to work for the betterment of women’s quality of life in Afghanistan.